The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO) is the medical college responsible for the training and professional development of ophthalmologists in Australia and New Zealand. This includes maintaining a Continuing Professional Development (CPD) system, a Vocational Training Program (VTP), organising scientific congresses and meetings, and much more.

“Our mission is to drive improvements in eye healthcare in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific region through continuing exceptional training, education, research and advocacy.”


Underpinning all of our work is a commitment to:

  • Best Patient Outcomes: aiming to ensure equitable access to the highest quality eye health for all

  • Education and training: providing contemporary education, training and continuing professional development

  • Evidence based decision making: using research to underpin improvements in education, training and eye health care

  • Collaboration: working with others involved in the delivery of eye health care nationally and internationally

  • Collegiality: supporting trainees and Fellows through all stages of their career

RANZCO has a three-year Strategic Plan 2017 – 2020, setting the direction for growth and improvement to achieve our mission.     

Learn More:

About Our People

RANZCO functions as a whole through the commitment of its Board, Council, Committees, Fellows, members and staff. The RANZCO Board, Council, Committees, Fellows and members provide governance and strategic direction, clinical input and assistance in the development and maintenance of RANZCO’s strategic mission and goals.

Learn More:

On 23 March 1938, 20 ophthalmologists from various states gathered in Sydney to form the Ophthalmological Society of Australia of the British Medical Association, with Sir James Barrett as its first President.

This was the beginning to what would come to be known as the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists.

College History

Read more on the History of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists.