Select Page

Australian and New Zealand Society of Retinal Specialists

The Australian and New Zealand Society of Retinal Specialists (ANZSRS) was formed in 2005 and is a subspecialty interest group of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO).

ANZSRS is a forum for communication, education; and research; it also provides RANZCO with expert advice regarding medical retina and vitreoretinal practice.

The society holds an annual scientific meeting. This two-day conference is held mid-year and focuses on major areas of medical and surgical retinal practice, uveitis, and ocular oncology. There is an emphasis on audience participation and panel discussions focused on challenging cases in everyday retina practice as well as novel advances in the field of retina.

ANZSRS has two membership categories:

  • Full members must be fellowship-trained retina specialists (similar to ASRS membership requirements) who are RANZCO Fellows.
  • Associate Membership is open to any practicing RANZCO Fellow with an interest in retinal disease.

Membership of ANZSRS also entails some reciprocal benefits with international retinal societies including the American Society of Retina Specialists (ASRS) and the European Society of Retina Specialists (EURETINA). To obtain a certificate of membership to ANZSRS please email

To access the ANZSRS retina surgery registry, log in here.

Xavier Fagan

ANZSRS Committee
Jennifer Arnold
Amy Cohn
Narme Deva
Rohan Essex
Alex Hunyor
Tony Kwan
Mali Okada
Ian McAllister

Last updated: February 2, 2022

Get in Touch

Do you have any queries or comments about our website, our products or any  of our services?
RANZCO acknowledges our First Australians, the Traditional Custodians of the land
on which we live and work, and pays respect to Elders past, present and emerging.
Gadigal people of the Eora Nation are the traditional custodians of the land
where the RANZCO head office is located.