Select Page


The College conducts a progressive assessment throughout the training process comprising formative and summative components. This includes comprehensive examinations that trainees must satisfactorily complete to progress through each stage of the Vocational Training Program (VTP). Each examination is aligned with one or more of the curriculum standards.

In Basic Training (Years 1 and 2), trainees must demonstrate an integrated knowledge and clinical and surgical skills in the Ophthalmic Sciences (COPEM, Anatomy, Optics and Physiology) and Ophthalmic Basic Competencies and Knowledge (OBCK) examinations. The Ophthalmic Sciences examinations (Anatomy, Optics and Physiology) are designed to drive understanding of the basic sciences underpinning ophthalmology practice. The OBCK examination is designed to assess the initial attainment of knowledge and skills in clinical ophthalmology.

These are further developed in Advanced Training (Years 3 and 4) as assessed in the Ophthalmic Pathology and the RANZCO Advanced Clinical Examination (RACE). The RACE is the final examination in the training program which assesses the achievement of the learning objectives in all the clinical curriculum performance standards, including the Social and Professional Responsibilities and Evidence-based Ophthalmic Practice Curriculum Standards.

2022 Examinations Timetable

If you are a RANZCO Trainee looking for information about examination resources, timetables, registration or results, please log in to your Portal for relevant information and notifications. Kindly email if you have further questions regarding examinations.

Last updated: June 21, 2022

Get in Touch

Do you have any queries or comments about our website, our products or any  of our services?
RANZCO acknowledges our First Australians, the Traditional Custodians of the land
on which we live and work, and pays respect to Elders past, present and emerging.
Gadigal people of the Eora Nation are the traditional custodians of the land
where the RANZCO head office is located.