Select Page

Scholarships, Grants and Fellowships



Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander, Maori and Pasifika Scholarships

The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO), in conjunction with the Trevelyan-Smith Scholarship Fund, is offering up to four scholarships of AUD $2,000 each for medical students (graduate/undergraduate) or junior doctors (PGY 1,2,3) who identify as Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander, Māori or Pasifika and are interested in pursuing a career in ophthalmology. The Scholarships are intended to cover the costs of undertaking ophthalmology surgical or clinical related education, professional development, training and/or research in Australia or New Zealand that will result in the acquisition of new knowledge or skills which will strengthen or enrich their career portfolios.

Applications are now open and close on 1 September 2019. Apply here.

Travelling Scholarships

RANZCO is pleased to announce the Alan James bequest and the Trevelyan-Smith bequest have provided funds for 2019 Travelling Scholarships. Open to fifth year trainees or young ophthalmologists undertaking a fellowship, each of the seven available scholarships is worth $10,000.

Applications are now open and close on Monday 16 September 2019. Apply here.

International Scholarship Program 2018

The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO) extends an invitation to Graduates of the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Leadership Development Program (APAO LDP) to apply for the opportunity to participate in the RANZCO International Development Workshop (focusing on glaucoma) on 16 November 2018 and attend the RANZCO Annual Scientific Meeting (Congress) and related events.

2019 scholarship applications are now closed.


ORIA Research Grants

The Ophthalmic Research Institute of Australia (ORIA) one-year research grants in ophthalmology and related fields are available through the Ophthalmic Research Institute of Australia (ORIA).

Applications for the 2019 ORIA Research Grants are now closed.

Macular Disease Foundation Australia’s Research Grant

Applications are now closed for the third round of Macular Disease Foundation Australia’s Research Grants Program.


More information on available Fellowships can be found on the Classifieds section of the website

NSW FellowshipDescriptionAddress
Clinical fellowship for overseas doctorsThe expertise in the University Department is in the areas of glaucoma, cornea and external eye disease, paediatric ophthalmology and strabismus, and medical retina in adults and children. The special investigation techniques include fluorescein angiography indocyannine green, electrophysiology and optical coherence tomography.Professor Peter McCluskey
Department of Ophthalmology
University of Sydney
PO Box 4337
Sydney NSW 2001
Phone: +61 2 9382 7302
Fax: +61 2 9382 7372
Medical retinal fellowship, Vitreo-retinal fellowship, and Glaucoma fellowshipProfessor Mitchell has wide experience in epidemiology and in particular, medical retinal disease such as diabetic retinopathy.Professor Paul Mitchell
Department of Ophthalmology
Westmead Hospital
Cnr Hawkesbury & Darcy Roads,
Westmead NSW 2145
Phone: +61 2 9845 7960
Fax: +61 2 9845 6117
Victoria FellowshipDescriptionAddress
Research Fellowships and post doctoral studentsGo to the Centre for Eye Research Australia
for more information or contact Professor Jonathan Crowston.
Professor Jonathan Crowston
Centre for Eye Research Australia (CERA)
32 Gisborne Street,
East Melbourne VIC 3002
Phone: +61 3 9929 8368
Fax: +61 3 9662 3859
Opportunities Eye and Ear Hospital FellowshipGo to the Clinical Fellowships through the Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital website for more information.HMO Manager
Eye & Ear Hospital
32 Gisborne Street,
East Melbourne VIC 3002
Phone: +61 3 9929 8666
Fax: +61 3 9663 7203
ChairDr Stephen Godfrey
Hon SecretaryDr Mark Chiang
Hon TreasurerDr Oben Candemir
ChairDr Mark Chehade
Hon SecretaryDr Matthew Little
Hon TreasurerDr Matthew Little
ChairDr Nigel Morlet
Hon SecretaryDr David Delahunty
Hon TreasurerDr Tom Cunneen
ChairA/Prof Paul McCartney
Hon SecretaryDr Andrew Traill
Hon TreasurerDr Andrew Jones
ChairDr Peter Hadden
Hon Secretary and Hon TreasurerDr Kenneth Chan

Last updated: July 8, 2019

Get in Touch

Do you have any queries or comments about our website, our products or any  of our services?
RANZCO acknowledges our First Australians, the Traditional
Custodians of the land on which we live and work, and pays
respect to Elders past, present and emerging. Gadigal people
of the Eora Nation are the traditional custodians of the land
where the RANZCO head office is located.

Follow Us

RANZCO is a member of The Australian Council for International Development (ACFID) and is compliant with the ACFID code of conduct.