Select Page

Vision 2030 and beyond Paediatric Workshop

On 5 May 2024, RANZCO hosted a collaborative care workshop on paediatric eye health. This workshop was part of the implementation of Vision 2030 and beyond. The workshop was funded via educational grants from Bayer and Roche. Participants came from all Australian jurisdictions and represented ophthalmology, optometry and orthoptics.


Hosted by Dr Caroline Catt and Prof Shuan Dai, co-chairs of the Vision 2030 and beyond Paediatric Working Group, the workshop featured a briefing on the goals and focus areas of Vision 2030 and beyond by Vision 2030 and beyond Steering Group Chair Prof Nitin Verma. Highlights include:

  • Zeinab Fakih, Nellie Dean, Elisse Higginbotham and Vianh Huynh (pictured L-R) brought an expert optometry perspective to the workshop.
  • A/Prof James Elder, Drs Sandra Staffieri and Loren Rose, Nicola Anstice, Joanne Dondey, Lachlan Knight and Prof Verma (pictured L-R) discussed how to work together across craft groups to progress children’s eye health.
  • Dr Deepa Taranath gave insight as a paediatric ophthalmologist in South Australia. Following on, A/Prof Elder provided an introductory presentation on early intervention and preventative health services to prevent vision loss in childhood.
  • Dr Rose also reported on her group’s discussions and recommendations on progressing collaborative care for children. Dr Nishantha Wijesinghe shared his experience living and working in the Top End.

Read more about RANZCO’s Vision 2030 and beyond.

Last updated: June 13, 2024

Get in Touch

Do you have any queries or comments about our website, our products or any  of our services?
RANZCO acknowledges our First Australians, the Traditional Custodians of the land
on which we live and work, and pays respect to Elders past, present and emerging.
Gadigal people of the Eora Nation are the traditional custodians of the land
where the RANZCO head office is located.
In recognition that we are a bi-national College, we also
acknowledge the Rangatiratanga of Māori as Tangata Whenua
and Treaty of Waitangi partners in Aotearoa New Zealand.