Select Page

Ophthalmology research part of the $120 million for tomorrow’s medical breakthrough


RANZCO commends yesterday’s government announcement of $123.5 million in grants to ensure Australia remains at the forefront of medical health and research and a world leader in preventing, treating and curing illness and disease.

Ophthalmology research featured in the group of over 100 top Australian researchers and projects to share in the National Health and Medical Research Council grants.

These include:

Dr Hong Zhang, Development Grant, Centre for Eye Research Australia ($584,165)

This research supports the development of a non-invasive treatment for the degenerative eye condition keratoconus. Current treatment involves lifting the protective layer of the cornea to apply riboflavin to the central region of the cornea – a procedure which can be painful and carries many risks of complications. Professor Zhang will work with Seagull Technologies to develop a polymer gel that, combined with a delivery device invented by the company, can release riboflavin into the cornea safely and without the need for any incision

Prof Yogesan Kanagasingam, Development Grant, Australian e-Health Research Centre (516,424)

Low cost smart screening system for sight threatening eye disease: diabetic retinopathy

Dr Queena Qin, Postgraduate Scholarship, Centre for Eye Research Australia

Energy supply in glaucoma: one cell’s trash is another cell’s treasure

Last updated: November 26, 2018

Get in Touch

Do you have any queries or comments about our website, our products or any  of our services?
RANZCO acknowledges our First Australians, the Traditional Custodians of the land
on which we live and work, and pays respect to Elders past, present and emerging.
Gadigal people of the Eora Nation are the traditional custodians of the land
where the RANZCO head office is located.
In recognition that we are a bi-national College, we also
acknowledge the Rangatiratanga of Māori as Tangata Whenua
and Treaty of Waitangi partners in Aotearoa New Zealand.