Australian and New Zealand Eye Foundation (ANZEF)

The Australian and New Zealand Eye Foundation (ANZEF) was established in 2018 as a new internal RANZCO committee dedicated to raising funds for important education and research projects across Australia, New Zealand and developing countries. ANZEF was set up to replace the charitable functions of the Eye Surgeons’ Foundation which ceased operations in 2017. Through its fundraising efforts ANZEF’s aim is to facilitate the distribution of donations for innovative research into eye disease, improve the lives of people who need eye care and overall to help prevent avoidable blindness in the Asia Pacific region.

The ANZEF Committee consists of up to 11 people, including the President of the College (ex officio); the Censor in Chief (ex officio); the CEO of the College (ex officio); three Fellows of RANZCO; and appointed members. The inaugural Chair of ANZEF is Dr John Kennedy. Other committee members currently include: Dr Clare Fraser and Dr Stephen Best.

The Foundation currently accepts donations from Australian RANZCO members directly, or from New Zealand members through the NZ Branch. While donations can be accepted from RANZCO members, it is not currently possible to accept donations from the public. However, bequests can be accepted from anyone.