ORIA Board

The ORIA Board consists of up to 16 people, two of whom are nominees of RANZCO. It is elected annually.

Current Board members are:

  • Prof Stephanie Watson, Sydney (Chair)
  • Prof Mark Gillies, Sydney (Vice Chairman)
  • Dr Richard Mills, Adelaide (Honorary Secretary)
  • A/Prof Paul Healey, Sydney (Honorary Treasurer)
  • Dr Fred Chen, Perth
  • Prof Jonathan Crowston, Melbourne
  • Dr Clare Fraser, Sydney
  • Dr Jennifer Fan Gaskin, Melbourne
  • Prof Stuart Graham, Sydney
  • Dr Gerald Liew, Sydney
  • Prof David Mackey, Perth
  • Prof Peter J McCluskey, Sydney
  • Dr John Males, Sydney
  • Prof Paul Mitchell, Sydney
  • Dr Andrea Vincent, New Zealand
  • Dr Andrew White, Sydney


ORIA Research Advisory Committee 2017

The ORIA’s Research Advisory Committee is made up of leading research ophthalmologists and vision scientists from Australia and New Zealand. The 15 Committee members will be selected annually from the panel.

  • Prof David Mackey (Chair)
  • Dr Alex Hewitt (Secretary)
  • Prof Stephanie Watson (ex-offico as Chair of ORIA) 
  • Dr Chandrakumar Balaratnasingham
  • A/Prof Kathryn Burdon
  • A/Prof Robert Casson
  • Prof Jamie Craig
  • Dr Fred Chen
  • Dr Sing-Pey Chow
  • Prof Jonathon Crowston
  • Prof Helen Danesh-Meyer
  • Dr Tom Edwards
  • Prof Colin Green
  • Dr Samantha Fraser-Bell
  • Dr Clare Fraser
  • A/Prof John Foster
  • Dr Adrian Fung
  • A/Prof Nick Di Girolamo
  • Dr Chris Layton
  • Dr Trevor Sherwin
  • A/Prof Ian Trounce
  • Dr Peter Van Wijngaarden
  • Dr Andrea Vincent
  • Save Sight Society (NZ), rep – Dr Graham Wilson